Investment advisor Chandra P. Leo joins Swiss Biotech Success Stories’ jury

Since 2018, the Swiss Biotech Association has been honoring outstanding achievements with the Swiss Biotech Success Stories Awards. Once a year, innovative companies, entrepreneurs and scientists are recognized by the industry association for their significant successes and lasting contributions to the Swiss biotech industry. Chandra P. Leo has now joined the Swiss Biotech Success Stories’ jury. The next Swiss Biotech Success Story Awards will be announced at the Swiss Biotech Day in Basel on April 24 – 25, 2023.

The biotech industry is one of the most innovative industries in Switzerland. More than 1,000 start-ups and SMEs develop new medicines (drugs, diagnostics, vaccines) or offer services in these fields. The industry has created around 50,000 jobs with very high economic value and invests around 2.5 billion Swiss francs annually in the research and development of new therapeutic options. Since 2018, the Swiss Biotech Success Stories Awards have highlighted and honored the most important achievements of the industry. Award winners are individuals or companies with significant scientific, medical or commercial achievements that have created sustainable value in Switzerland, in terms of innovative medicines, scientific advances or the creation of new jobs.

An independent jury of experts chaired by Luca Bolliger, Vice President of the Swiss Biotech Association, decides on the Swiss Biotech Success Story Awards each year. The jury consists of industry experts with a proven track-record in the biotech industry. As of September 2022, Dr Chandra P. Leo has joined the jury. He is a member of the private equity team at HBM Partners, taking up the baton from his colleague Ulrich (Uli) Geilinger.

«We are excited to work with Chandra. As a veteran of the investment community in our ecosystem, Chandra will contribute valuable and complementary knowledge to the jury», explains jury president Luca Bolliger. «At the same time, we thank Uli for his continued and important contributions in making the Swiss Biotech Success Stories a big success on their own.»

Further jury members of the Swiss Biotech Success Stories are Patrick Aebischer, entrepreneur and former president of EPFL, Stefanie Flückiger-Mangual, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Tolremo Therapeutics, Gabrielle Gache, Head of Business Development (EMEA) at Santen Pharmaceutical, Seraina Gross, business journalist at Handelszeitung, Daniela Marino, Chief Executive Officer and co-founder of Cutiss, and Jürg Zürcher, independent biotechnology leader and expert. Thomas Staffelbach, communications consultant for pharma/biotech, is secretary of the jury.

More about the Swiss Biotech Success Stories
More about the Swiss Biotech Success Stories Award jury

Media Contact
Swiss Biotech Association
Sabine Bamert
Head of Communications

The “Who’s Who” of the Swiss biotech industry
The Swiss Biotech Association launched the Swiss Biotech Success Stories Awards on its 20th anniversary in 2018. Since then, the following laureates have been awarded (in alphabetical order): Actelion, Bachem, Basilea, Biogen, Debiopharm, ESBAtech, Genedata, Helsinn, Lonza, NovImmune, Okairos, Roche Glycart, Selexis, Venture Kick, Venturelab, >>Venture>>, and Vifor Fresenius Medical Care Renal Pharma, as well as individuals Prof. Dr. Werner Arber, Nobel Prize winner, and Etienne Jornod, entrepreneur as well as Executive Chairman and co-owner at OM Pharma.

About Swiss Biotech and the Swiss Biotech Association
Founded in 1998, the Swiss Biotech Association represents the interests of the Swiss biotech industry. To support its members in a competitive market, the association works to secure favorable framework conditions and facilitate access to talents, novel technologies and financial resources. To strengthen and promote the Swiss biotech industry, the Swiss Biotech Association collaborates with numerous partners and life science clusters globally under the brand Swiss Biotech™.